ANZ overview

Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited (commonly referred to as ANZ) provides online banking services to individuals and businesses in the primary markets of Australia and New Zealand, as well as Asia, the Pacific, UK/Europe and the United States.

ANZ traces its origins to the Bank of Australasia, which opened its first office in Sydney in 1835. The bank established a Melbourne office in 1838, where ANZ's world headquarters is located today.

ANZ is a publicly listed company, and was incorporated on 14 July 1977 in Australia. Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited is the main holding and operating company for the Group and our registered office is ANZ Centre, Level 9, 833 Collins Street, Docklands, Victoria, Australia.

ANZ is one of the five largest listed companies in Australia by market capitalisation, one of four major banks in Australia (by total assets) and the largest bank in New Zealand (by total assets).

In 2015, ANZ signed a five-year deal worth A$450m with IBM. As part of the deal, the two companies agreed to build an innovation lab to enable the bank's developers to build, test and deploy new services and applications. In 2016, ANZ launched another innovation lab, ANZ BlueSpace in Singapore. The company has also estabilshed a lab in India.

As at 30 September 2018, ANZ had a market capitalisation of A$81.0 billion and total assets of A$942.6 billion.

It operates in more than 33 markets across Australia, New Zealand, Asia, Pacific, Europe, America and the Middle East. Its 40,000 staff serve retail, commercial and institutional customers through consumer and corporate offerings in our core markets, and regional trade and capital flows across the region.

Map showing the location of ANZ

Melbourne, Australia

Need more insight?

Speak to us about commissioning some bespoke research.

Find out more

Key people

Shayne Cary Elliott Chief Financial Officer and Member of Management Board
Richard Busso Senior Manager, Digital Business Engagement
Penelope Barr Sr. Technology Manager
Damien Smith Head of Technology
Chaminda Ranasinghe Head of Digital Sales & Marketing
John Powell Morschel Board Member
Michael Roger Pearson Chief Executive Officer, Member of Management Board
Sreeram Iyer Chief Operating Officer for 20 Countries
Michelle Pinheiro Head of Enterprise Data Governance
Jonathan Goode Head of Technology Strategy and Architecture, Security
Amin Sadri Senior Data Scientist
Gilles Planté Board Member
Scott Bales Business Engagement Manager
Adam Lapsley SEO Manager
Chris Oosthuizen Senior Manager
Raghavendra Bhat Head of Technology
Ian John Macfarlane Board Member
Rahul Guha CSM, CSPO Solution Architecture - Mobility
Shayne Elliott Chief Executive Officer
Emma Gray Chief Data Officer
Dinesh Patel Windows System Administrator
Jackie Kallman Head of Payments Industry
Matt Holdich Head of Strategic Change - Consumer Digitisation